Auto Insurance in Delaware
The state of Delaware requires drivers to register vehicles and obtain a minimum standard of liability coverage. Auto insurance in Delaware must include personal injury protection and meet certain protection minimums. Read below to find out all the details you need to know.
Auto Insurance in Delaware
Delaware requires its drivers to at least have liability coverage for their vehicle. Law enforcement demands that drivers carry proof of their car insurance at all times.
If you are in a situation where you are pulled over in a traffic stop by a police officer and you cannot produce proof of insurance, you could face two strict penalties. Drivers without auto insurance in Delaware are subject to a $1,500 fine and suspension of license for the first offense. If you are charged with a second offense, you could be looking at a fine as high as $3,000 in addition to license suspension. You also need to produce proof of insurance in order to legally register your vehicle with the Delaware Division of Motor Vehicles.
Minimum Liability Auto Insurance in Delaware
Liability auto insurance in Delaware is subject to state minimum standards for coverage. If you plan on purchasing a liability policy, make sure that it meets the following minimums:
- $15,000 bodily injury per person
- $30,000 total bodily injury per accident
- $10,000 total property damage per accident
If you are involved in an accident, this level of coverage may not adequately protect you and your passengers. Medical care costs are skyrocketing. The same could be said about vehicle repair costs. This is why most experts recommend that drivers look for coverage that goes above and beyond the minimum standards laid out in Connecticut and other states. The experts suggest that you look for a policy that includes collision and comprehensive coverage.
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Auto Insurance in Delaware
Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage can help provide additional protection for those situations where you are struck by a driver who does not have proper insurance. Because these accidents can lead to big financial problems for innocent accident victims, some states require UM/UIM coverage. Delaware does not currently require its drivers to have this kind of protection.
Delaware does demand that drivers carry no-fault car insurance. This means that Delaware drivers will need to obtain coverage with additional personal injury protection.
Personal Injury Protection (PIP)
Personal injury protection (PIP) is car insurance that covers lost wages, medical expenses, and additional damages. The coverage is available for drivers and their passengers.
Because Delaware mandates this type of coverage, you need to make sure your policy includes PIP protection worth at least:
- $15,000 for bodily injury to any person
- $30,000 for bodily injuries per accident
- $5,000 for funeral expenses
In some states, drivers are required to file an SR-22 document with the Division of Motor Vehicles in order to reinstate a license that has been suspended. Many drivers find themselves facing this requirement after they have been convicted of a DUI, caught driving without insurance, or involved in an accident without proper insurance.
This requirement does not apply to drivers in Delaware. The state does not require drivers seeking reinstatement to file the SR-22.
In Delaware, your penalty for a first time DUI offense depends on the severity of your intoxication. For starters, your license will be suspended:
- 12 months if blood alcohol content is 0.08% to 0.15%
- 18 months if blood alcohol content is 0.15% to 0.19%
- 24 months if blood alcohol content is 0.20% or above
You can also face a prison time up to six months for a first time offense. Your fine will range from $500 to $1,500.
You can always contact the Delaware Department of Insurance at (302) 674-7300 or go to their website at www.delawareinsurance.gov if you have questions that were not answered on this page.
Compare Quotes and Save Hundreds a Year on Car Insurance
The easiest way to make sure that you are getting the best rates is to ask for quotes from different insurance companies. Get started comparing quotes now!
- Alabama (AL)
- Alaska (AK)
- Arizona (AZ)
- Arkansas (AR)
- California (CA)
- Colorado (CO)
- Connecticut (CT)
- Delaware (DE)
- Florida (FL)
- Georgia (GA)
- Hawaii (HI)
- Idaho (ID)
- Illinois (IL)
- Indiana (IN)
- Iowa (IA)
- Kansas (KS)
- Kentucky (KY)
- Louisiana (LA)
- Maine (ME)
- Maryland (MD)
- Massachusetts (MA)
- Michigan (MI)
- Minnesota (MN)
- Mississippi (MS)
- Missouri (MO)
- Montana (MT)
- Nebraska (NE)
- Nevada (NV)
- New Hampshire (NH)
- New Jersey (NJ)
- New Mexico (NM)
- New York (NY)
- North Carolina (NC)
- North Dakota (ND)
- Ohio (OH)
- Oklahoma (OK)
- Oregon (OR)
- Pennsylvania (PA)
- Rhode Island (RI)
- South Carolina (SC)