Save up to 75% on car insurance
Cheapest Rates from
Start Here
Enter your zip code

Auto Insurance in Washington

Are you looking for information about auto insurance in Washington? Your state has laws and regulations that apply to all drivers. In order to avoid potentially severe penalties for noncompliance, you should educate yourself on all the requirements that apply to drivers. This guide has everything you need.

Auto Insurance in Washington

Drivers who fail to obtain or maintain minimum liability auto insurance in the State of Washington are subject to penalty. There is a minimum fine of $450 that applies to drivers who let their policy lapse. You also may face fines and other penalties for failure to carry proof of insurance in your vehicle at all times. In order to act as valid proof, an insurance card must be issued by your insurance company and must contain the following information:

- The insured driver's name
- The insurance company’s name
- Policy number
- Effective dates and expiration dates
- A description of the vehicle including year, make, and model

Minimum Liability Auto Insurance in Washington

As stated earlier, drivers must maintain liability insurance that is in compliance with a minimum standard. In Washington, the required coverage amounts equal:

$25,000 bodily injury per person
$50,000 total bodily injury per accident
$10,000 total property damage per accident

Covering $50,000 for bodily injury and $10,000 for total property damage may protect you in many situations, but experts advise drivers to think about the potential for catastrophic damages. In the event of a serious accident, your minimum coverage could easily come up short in providing you with financial protection. If you are interested in securing more comprehensive that would exceed the state minimum standards, you should enter your zip code on this page. It is the best way to save on quality coverage in your area.

Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Auto Insurance in Washington

Washing drivers are not required by law to obtain uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage.

No-Fault Auto Insurance in Washington

Washington does not have laws requiring no-fault insurance for drivers.

Personal Injury Protection (PIP)

Personal injury protection is not a requirement for drivers in this state.

SR-22 Requirements

In order to earn reinstatement as a legal driver after a period of suspension, or to meet the requirements of the state after you have been convicted of certain offenses, you will be required to file an SR-22 form with the DMV. Washington is one of many states that require this form to act as proof of financial responsibility.

Washington’s DUI Laws

Washington hands out penalties for DUI offenses in similar fashion to many other states around the country. For a first offense, a person could receive:

- 1 day to 1 year imprisonment or 15 days electronic home monitoring
- 2 days to 1 year if Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) is above 0.15% or 30 days electronic home monitoring
- Minimum $865.50 to $5000 fine
- Minimum $1,120.50 to $5,000 fine if BAC is above 0.15%
- 90 day license suspension
- 1 year license suspension if BAC is above 0.15%
- Ignition interlock (add 60 days if minor under 16 was present in vehicle)
- SR-22 insurance required
- Possible substance abuse education

Additional Information about Auto Insurance in Washington

Any additional questions you may have about auto insurance in Washington should be directed to the Washington State Office of the Insurance Commissioner. To reach out, call (800) 562-6900 or go to

Compare Quotes and Save Hundreds a Year on Car Insurance

The easiest way to make sure that you are getting the best rates is to ask for quotes from different insurance companies. Get started comparing quotes now!

Zip Code
Select Your State

Choose Your State

Need a quote?
Enter your zip code - It's fast, free and easy!