Auto Insurance in Minnesota
Did you know that you must carry liability auto insurance in Minnesota? This law applies to all drivers in the state. There are other regulations that you are expected to know and follow. This guide is a one-stop resource for Minnesota drivers who want to get educated on the facts.
Auto Insurance in Minnesota
Minnesota’s auto insurance laws do not just require drivers to have liability coverage, they also require drivers to carry proof of insurance in their vehicle. At all times, drivers must carry an insurance card or another qualifying form of insurance identification that proves possession of compliant coverage.
In Minnesota, liability coverage must include no-fault insurance. The state passed the No Fault Act, which demands this level of coverage. If you are stopped by law enforcement and are asked to provide proof of insurance, you must be able to provide qualifying evidence that proves you meet the state’s minimum standard. The following items count as valid proof of coverage:
- Current insurance policy
- Written statement issued by insurance company
- Insurance card issued by provider
It is against the law to operate an uninsured vehicle. This could apply to people who are insured but are allowed to drive someone else’s uninsured car. These kinds of offenses lead to fines, suspension of driving privileges and possible imprisonment. You must legally attest to having proper insurance when you register a vehicle.
Minimum Liability Auto Insurance in Minnesota
Liability auto insurance is only considered compliant with the law if it covers a minimum of:
$30,000 bodily injury per person
$60,000 total bodily injury per accident
$10,000 total property damage per accident
Whether you are looking for coverage that only meets the state standard or you are looking to add comprehensive, collision, or other extensions, you can find the best deal by entering your zip code in the form on this page.
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Auto Insurance in Minnesota
Drivers must carry insurance that covers at least $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident in events caused by either uninsured or underinsured motorists.
No-Fault Auto Insurance in Minnesota
No-fault insurance is required by law in the State of Minnesota.
Personal Injury Protection (PIP)
PIP insurance must cover at least $40,000 per person per accident. This number includes $20,000 for medical expenses and $20,000 for non-medical damages like lost wages.
Minnesota drivers are never required to file an SR-22 form. Even suspended drivers do not have to deal with this form.
Minnesota’s DWI Laws
The following maximum penalties may apply to anyone convicted of a DUI offense for the first time:
- Up to 90 days imprisonment
- $1,000 fine
- $250 license reinstatement fee
- $430 license reinstatement surcharge
- $24 driver license application fee
- 90 day license suspension
- 180 day license suspension if BAC is above 0.20% and/or minor under 16 present in vehicle
- One year license suspension for DWI test refusal
- Restricted license possible after 15 days if non-aggravating DWI
- Possible Ignition interlock
Additional Information about Auto Insurance in Minnesota
Are you still unsure about some of the laws pertaining to auto insurance in Minnesota? The Minnesota Insurance Commissioner's Office can answer any questions you may have about details that are not covered in this guide. You can reach them by calling (651) 296-6025 or navigating to their website at www.insurance.mn.gov/.
Compare Quotes and Save Hundreds a Year on Car Insurance
The easiest way to make sure that you are getting the best rates is to ask for quotes from different insurance companies. Get started comparing quotes now!
- Alabama (AL)
- Alaska (AK)
- Arizona (AZ)
- Arkansas (AR)
- California (CA)
- Colorado (CO)
- Connecticut (CT)
- Delaware (DE)
- Florida (FL)
- Georgia (GA)
- Hawaii (HI)
- Idaho (ID)
- Illinois (IL)
- Indiana (IN)
- Iowa (IA)
- Kansas (KS)
- Kentucky (KY)
- Louisiana (LA)
- Maine (ME)
- Maryland (MD)
- Massachusetts (MA)
- Michigan (MI)
- Minnesota (MN)
- Mississippi (MS)
- Missouri (MO)
- Montana (MT)
- Nebraska (NE)
- Nevada (NV)
- New Hampshire (NH)
- New Jersey (NJ)
- New Mexico (NM)
- New York (NY)
- North Carolina (NC)
- North Dakota (ND)
- Ohio (OH)
- Oklahoma (OK)
- Oregon (OR)
- Pennsylvania (PA)
- Rhode Island (RI)
- South Carolina (SC)