Auto Insurance in Nebraska
Are you ready to purchase auto insurance in Nebraska? Before you think about buying a new policy or renewing an old one, you should read this guide to insurance laws in Nebraska. Your state may have new laws regarding no-fault insurance or uninsured motorist coverage that were not in place the last time you purchased a policy.
Auto Insurance in Nebraska
There are penalties for operating a motor vehicle without liability auto insurance in Nebraska. All drivers must have coverage and carry proof of insurance in their vehicles. Failure to follow either of these mandates will lead to penalties from the state. If you cannot prove that you have compliant auto insurance after an accident, during any traffic stop by law enforcement, or after a DUI arrest, you face potential suspension of driving privileges. Suspended drivers must go through a reinstatement process before they can legally operate a motor vehicle in Nebraska.
Minimum Liability Auto Insurance in Nebraska
In order to comply with the laws in Nebraska, your liability auto insurance must cover at least:
- $25,000 bodily injury per person
- $50,000 total bodily injury per accident
- $25,000 total property damage per accident
Compared to other states, this is a reasonably high standard of coverage. Still, most experts agree that even the higher range of state minimums fall short in many situations. An accident can lead to expensive medical care and thousands of dollars in vehicle and property repairs. In order to fully protect your passengers, yourself, and your assets, you might want to consider options like comprehensive and collision coverage. Whatever kind of coverage works best for your situation, you can find a great deal by entering your zip code in the form on this page.
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Auto Insurance in Nebraska
The State of Nebraska does not require drivers to obtain any auto insurance extensions beyond the minimum liability coverage. Your policy does not need to include UM/UIM insurance.
No-Fault Auto Insurance in Nebraska
There is no law requiring no-fault auto insurance in Nebraska.
Personal Injury Protection (PIP)
Personal injury protection, a form of coverage that helps pay for medical expenses and other costs of being in an accident, is not required by the State of Nebraska.
The driving privileges reinstatement process includes an SR-22 document. In most states, this type of document goes directly to the DMV in order to establish a suspended driver’s compliance with auto insurance laws. Once that has been established, the person may be able to regain driving privileges.
Nebraska’s DUI Laws
If you are convicted of a DUI in Nebraska, you could be looking at a long list of potential penalties:
- Minimum seven days to 60 days imprisonment
- Maximum $500 fine
- Up to six month license suspension
- One year license suspension if Blood Alcohol Level is 0.15% or above
- Possible alcohol treatment/assessment
Additional Information about Auto Insurance in Nebraska
This guide covered most of what you need to know about auto insurance in Nebraska. If you still have questions, you should direct them to the Nebraska Department of Insurance. You can call them at (877) 564-7323 or go to their website at www.doi.ne.gov.
Compare Quotes and Save Hundreds a Year on Car Insurance
The easiest way to make sure that you are getting the best rates is to ask for quotes from different insurance companies. Get started comparing quotes now!
- Alabama (AL)
- Alaska (AK)
- Arizona (AZ)
- Arkansas (AR)
- California (CA)
- Colorado (CO)
- Connecticut (CT)
- Delaware (DE)
- Florida (FL)
- Georgia (GA)
- Hawaii (HI)
- Idaho (ID)
- Illinois (IL)
- Indiana (IN)
- Iowa (IA)
- Kansas (KS)
- Kentucky (KY)
- Louisiana (LA)
- Maine (ME)
- Maryland (MD)
- Massachusetts (MA)
- Michigan (MI)
- Minnesota (MN)
- Mississippi (MS)
- Missouri (MO)
- Montana (MT)
- Nebraska (NE)
- Nevada (NV)
- New Hampshire (NH)
- New Jersey (NJ)
- New Mexico (NM)
- New York (NY)
- North Carolina (NC)
- North Dakota (ND)
- Ohio (OH)
- Oklahoma (OK)
- Oregon (OR)
- Pennsylvania (PA)
- Rhode Island (RI)
- South Carolina (SC)