Auto Insurance in New York
Are you thinking about purchasing or renewing your auto insurance in New York? If you currently do not have coverage, you need to know that New York has laws that require liability auto insurance. There are several regulations that apply to all drivers in the state. You should read this quick guide to auto insurance in New York to get educated.
Auto Insurance in New York
New York’s mandatory liability auto insurance law is enforced by the New York Department of Motor Vehicles. This governmental body maintains an insurance database that tracks all cancellations, issuances, and renewals of insurance policies related to registered vehicles in the state. If you do not maintain compliant auto insurance in New York, the database will alert the DMV. Failure to maintain coverage can lead to suspension of driver’s license, loss of vehicle registration, and substantial fines.
If you cause an accident when driving without insurance, the state will revoke your license and registration for at least one year. The same penalty applies if your permit an uninsured driver to operate your vehicle and they cause an accident. These infractions can lead to fines as much as $1,500, not including the $750 civil penalty that the DMV charges for reinstatement of driving privileges.
Minimum Liability Auto Insurance in New York
If you want to avoid fines and penalties, you need to make sure that your liability insurance covers:
- $25,000 bodily injury per person
- $50,000 total bodily injury per accident
- $10,000 total property damage per accident
To fully protect your passengers, your assets, and yourself, you might want to look into additional coverage in the form of comprehensive and collision insurance. No matter what kind of coverage works for you, you will find the best deals by entering your zip code in the form on this page.
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Auto Insurance in New York
New York drivers are required to maintain UM/UIM coverage that meets the same minimum limits that apply to bodily injury coverage in liability insurance: $50,000 total and $25,000 per person.
No-Fault Auto Insurance in New York
New York is a no-fault state. This means certain requirements apply to personal injury protection. You will find the details in the next section.
Personal Injury Protection (PIP)
Drivers must carry PIP covering $50,000 per person per accident, according to New York auto insurance law.
Here is a list of expenses covered by standard PIP in New York:
- Accident related medical and rehabilitation expenses deemed reasonable and necessary
- 80% of lost wages, up to a maximum payment of $2,000 per month for up to three years from the date of the accident (statutory offsets for New York State disability, Worker’s Compensation and Federal Social Security disability benefits may apply)
- Up to $25 a day for up to one year after the accident for other reasonable and necessary expenses
- A $2,000 death benefit (in addition to the $50,000 basic no-fault limit), payable to the estate of a person eligible for no-fault benefits who is killed in a motor vehicle accident
Suspended drivers are not required to submit an SR-22 form.
New York’s DWI Laws
DUI offenders can expect stiff penalties from the State of New York. Maximum penalties include:
- Class “E” felony if minor under 16 in vehicle
- Up to one year imprisonment; up to four years if a minor under 16 was in the vehicle
- $500 to $1,000 fine; up to $5,000 if minor under 16 in vehicle
- Minimum six month license suspension
- Mandatory surcharge
- Mandatory alcohol screening/evaluation
- Possible ignition interlock
- Possible driver responsibility assessment
Additional Information about Auto Insurance in New York
Talk to an official at the New York State Insurance Department if you have questions about auto insurance in New York. To contact their office, just call (800) 342-3736 or go to their website at ww.ins.state.ny.us/.
Compare Quotes and Save Hundreds a Year on Car Insurance
The easiest way to make sure that you are getting the best rates is to ask for quotes from different insurance companies. Get started comparing quotes now!
- Alabama (AL)
- Alaska (AK)
- Arizona (AZ)
- Arkansas (AR)
- California (CA)
- Colorado (CO)
- Connecticut (CT)
- Delaware (DE)
- Florida (FL)
- Georgia (GA)
- Hawaii (HI)
- Idaho (ID)
- Illinois (IL)
- Indiana (IN)
- Iowa (IA)
- Kansas (KS)
- Kentucky (KY)
- Louisiana (LA)
- Maine (ME)
- Maryland (MD)
- Massachusetts (MA)
- Michigan (MI)
- Minnesota (MN)
- Mississippi (MS)
- Missouri (MO)
- Montana (MT)
- Nebraska (NE)
- Nevada (NV)
- New Hampshire (NH)
- New Jersey (NJ)
- New Mexico (NM)
- New York (NY)
- North Carolina (NC)
- North Dakota (ND)
- Ohio (OH)
- Oklahoma (OK)
- Oregon (OR)
- Pennsylvania (PA)
- Rhode Island (RI)
- South Carolina (SC)